1. PERSONAL INFORMATION
Your profile is kept anonymous in the sense that we do not disclose your email address to other users of the service. You are known only by your first name and surname that you give us when creating your account, as well as the location (city and country), university, alma mater and role you specify.
You have the choice to provide further information at your discretion, so that other users can better decide to contact you and vice versa. If you decide to include, for example, a profile picture, or a description of your skills or motivation, then this will be visible to other users of the service. If you enter your birth date, then this is displayed as age in years, and not as your exact birth date.
We even implemented a dedicated messaging system, so that you do not have to disclose your email address to others.
All information collected during this process is kept confidential from others as well.
As you can see, we do take your privacy serious and strive to keep your information secure.
2. INTEGRATION WITH THIRD PART SERVICES
Founders Market integrates with third party services to increase the chances of finding a co-founder, and make the experience of having and discussing ideas, connecting with other users, and founding a start-up in general more social.
Founders Market allows you to connect your account to Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn (social accounts). You can do so at registration or afterwards. During this process, you are asked for permission to connect to your social accounts to help complete your Founders Market profile, etc. This will happen only once. Without granting the permission, we will not be able to connect your social accounts for you. At registration with your social accounts, Founders Market will post a promotional post ONCE on the social network you use to register onto Founders Market as well as the social networks you choose to link to your Founders Market account.
If you prefer to register without connecting to your social accounts, you are welcome to use our own registration form for this purpose. Founders Markets may offer functionality such as commenting of ideas, sharing links to ideas, etc. which might post to your social accounts if your social accounts are connected. Should you change your mind and decide to disconnect your social accounts, to disable this functionality, you can do so at any point in time by removing your social accounts links from your Founders Market profile.
Please note that the information you provide as it is visible to other users on this site, may also be visible on select partner websites or published by sharing on third-party services such as Facebook, Twitter and others.
An integral part of Founders Market are the communications we send to help make your experience on our platform better. These include notifications, for example, when someone comments on an idea you shared, visits your profile, or sends you a message via the built-in messaging system, as well as our monthly newsletter, which includes useful information regarding everything start-up related. Should you choose to no longer receive the monthly newsletter, emails or other notifications, you can do so any time either by adjusting your settings, or simply contacting us at email@example.com.
4. KEEPING YOUR INFORMATION SECURE
Your account is protected by the password you choose. Just as with most Internet services, the security of your information depends on this password, and how well you safeguard access to your account from others. Fortunately, this is not very difficult.
You can prevent unauthorized access to your account by choosing a longer password containing numbers and letters, by limiting the access to your computer and browser, and by logging out from your account when you are done using the service.
Should you have accidentally disclosed your password to someone, or otherwise come to suspect someone might be accessing your account, you can easily change your password by choosing a new one in your profile information.
While we would certainly like to be able to, we cannot guarantee the security of user information at all times. Unforeseen circumstances such as hardware or software failures and other factors may compromise the security of it at any time.
5. ACCOUNT DELETION
Should you ever wish to delete your account, for example after you decide to start a project or found a company with some fellow members you got In touch with here, simply let us know by contacting us at firstname.lastname@example.org. We will delete your account including the personal information you provided. Please note that we may have back-ups of your information for 90 days after we deleted your account.
In case you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us any time at email@example.com.
Effective Date: February 15th, 2015